Stray gatos, crumbling casas and beautiful vistas

My Adventures Abroad

Today we hiked up into the hills above Granada into a unique neighborhood named Sacromonte. All I had been told about this part of the city was it is dangerous and I shouldn’t got there alone.

Sometimes the most dangerous parts of a city are also the most amazing.

IMG_8999

A beautiful view of the Alhambra and the city of Granada

IMG_9035

The mesmerizing Alhambra

IMG_9028

Looking at these houses made me realize I am truly living in the Mediterranean.   

Sacromonte is famous for its flamenco dancing, beautiful views of the Alhambra and Granada and its unique personality.

IMG_8976

As we walked up (literally up, it is on the top of a large hill) ancient cobblestones mixed with modern asphalt we had to jump out of the way of cars and after stopping to take far too many photos I had to rush to keep up with the group. We saw at least 6 stray cats and heard some random music being played out an open window.

IMG_9017

There’s a stray cat sunbathing on the roof of this casa. I imagine it was a well deserved a siesta. 

Ironically, with my camera around my neck and a sweatshirt tied 90’s style around my waist, I began to feel like less of a tourist.

IMG_9002

My friend Kate and I showing off our 90’s tourist style (sweatshirts tied around our waists)

Here are some more pictures from my wonderful adventure:

One thought on “Stray gatos, crumbling casas and beautiful vistas

Leave a Reply

